<transcy>钻石背后的痛苦真相</transcy>

“你可能佩戴的那枚珍贵的钻戒有着一段痛苦的历史”

diamond_ring | conflict_diamonds | hackney_nine |

为什么我们不在珠宝中使用开采钻石

对许多人来说,钻石被视为爱、承诺和快乐新起点的终极象征。但对于生活在钻石开采国的许多人来说,这些闪闪发光的宝石与其说是一种祝福,不如说是一种诅咒。很多时候,世界上的钻石矿不仅生产钻石,而且还生产内战、暴力、工人剥削、环境退化和无法形容的人类苦难。

child-soldier | conflict_diamonds

暴力:世界上大部分钻石产自塞拉利昂、利比里亚、安哥拉、刚果共和国和中非共和国等贫穷的非洲国家。作为钻石开采的直接结果,这些国家经历了残酷的内战。钻石通过资助军队和反叛民兵来加剧内战。敌对团体也会相互争斗以控制富含钻石的领土。悲惨的结果是流血、丧生和令人震惊的侵犯人权行为——从强奸到使用儿童兵。数千人死亡,超过一百万人流离失所。此外,过去由钻石引发的战争夺去了大约 370 万人的生命。数以百万计的人仍在应对这些战争的后果:朋友和家人丧生、生活破碎,以及将持续几代人的身心伤痕。

child_miners | conflict _diamonds

剥削:世界上许多钻石的开采方式都是剥削工人、儿童和社区。非洲的 100 万钻石挖掘者每天的收入不到 1 美元。由于健康和安全法律不完善和监管不力,矿工经常死于事故。童工现象很普遍。 因为儿童被认为是廉价劳动力的一个容易来源,所以他们经常在钻石开采业工作。在非洲的一些地区,儿童占劳动力的一小部分。对安哥拉北隆达省钻石矿工的一项调查发现,46% 的矿工年龄在 5 至 16 岁之间。此外,腐败蔓延使钻石开采社区失去了经济发展急需的资金。结果,数十万矿工及其家人缺乏自来水和卫生设施等基本必需品。饥饿、文盲和婴儿死亡率司空见惯。即使在发展中国家,钻石开采社区也往往是最贫困的。

child-miner | conflict_diamonds

环境:由于规划和监管不力,钻石开采在整个非洲和世界其他地区造成了环境破坏。数十年来不计后果的钻石开采对非洲的环境造成了沉重打击。不负责任的钻石开采造成了水土流失,导致森林砍伐,并迫使当地居民搬迁。在某些极端情况下,钻石开采会导致整个生态系统崩溃。例如,塞拉利昂东部科诺区的钻石矿工留下了数千个废弃的矿坑。野生动物消失了,表土被侵蚀了,曾经适合耕种的土地现在变成了荒凉的月球景观。矿坑也造成了公共卫生灾难。当这些坑里充满了积水时,就会滋生蚊子,传播疟疾和其他水传播疾病。

diamond_mining

金伯利进程:2003 年,金伯利进程成立,旨在防止“冲突钻石”进入主流钻石市场。该程序的建立是“确保购买钻石不会资助反叛运动及其盟友试图破坏合法政府的暴力行为。”然而,该过程的有效性受到了质疑。Global Witness 和 IMPACT 等组织已退出该计划,声称该计划未能实现其目的,并且没有向市场提供钻石不是冲突钻石的保证。 人权观察等组织也认为金伯利进程太过分了范围狭窄,不能充分消除钻石生产链中的人权问题和剥削,也不能解决非洲钻石开采社区普遍存在的贫困问题。African-mining-village | conflict-diamonds

据调查报纸《卫报》报道,在对金伯利进程的分析中得出的结论是:“实际上几乎没有改变。为消除冲突钻石贸易而建立的系统现在正在为该行业提供一个完美的封面故事,因为它继续以一如既往的不透明方式运作。”

出于这些原因,我们不在珠宝中使用开采的钻石。我们更喜欢使用氧化锆宝石代替。

氧化锆是由宝石制成的晶体,在视觉和美学上与钻石相当。据施华洛世奇称,氧化锆的亮度和硬度与钻石不相上下,莫氏硬度等级为 8.5。

通过正确的选择和切割,氧化锆可以显示出与钻石相同甚至更好的特性,而且价格要低得多。在某些方面,氧化锆宝石比钻石更受欢迎,因为它们完美无瑕。从伦理的角度来看,氧化锆更可取,因为它们没有冲突,并且以对环境负责的方式生产。

查看 我们的反奴隶制政策。

喜欢珠宝?

hackney_nine | hackneynine | boutique-to-go | start-your-own-business | start-your-own-business-from-home | home-based-business| home_based-fashion-business | home-based-jewelry-business | affordable-jewelry | gold-chain | silver-chain  |hoops | earrings |become_a_brand_ambassador | become_an_independent_stylist | boutique_to_go | gold-chain | silver-chain | necklace | earrings | charms | jewelry | jewelry-store | pandora | bracelet | shop-jewelry | zodiac-jewelry | silver-jewelry | gold-jewelry | 925silver | heart-Jewelry | Inspirational-jewelry | dainty-jewelry | zirconia

将您的热情转化为收入来源。
与我们合作销售我们的无冲突珠宝

The Painful Truth Behind Diamonds

"That cherished diamond ring that you may be wearing has a painful history"

diamond_ring | conflict_diamonds | hackney_nine |

WHY WE DON'T USE MINED DIAMONDS IN OUR JEWELRY

A diamond is seen as the ultimate symbol of love, commitment, and joyful new beginnings for many. But these sparkling stones are more a curse than a blessing for many people living in countries where diamonds are mined. Too often, the world’s diamond mines produce not only diamonds – but also civil wars, violence, worker exploitation, environmental degradation and unspeakable human suffering.

child-soldier | conflict_diamonds

Violence: Most of the world’s diamonds are mined in poor African countries such as Sierra Leone, Liberia, Angola, the Republic of Congo and the Central African Republic. As a direct result of diamond mining, these countries have endured brutal civil conflict. Diamonds intensify civil wars by financing militaries and rebel militias. Rival groups also fight with each other to control diamond-rich territory. The tragic result is bloodshed, loss of life, and shocking human rights abuses – from rape to the use of child soldiers. Thousands of people have died and more than a million have been displaced. In addition, past wars fueled by diamonds have taken about 3.7 million lives. Millions of people are still dealing with the consequences of these wars: friends and family members lost, lives shattered, and physical and emotional scars that will last generations.

child_miners | conflict _diamonds

Exploitation: Many of the world's diamonds are mined using practices that exploit workers, children, and communities. A million diamond diggers in Africa earn less than a dollar a day. Miners regularly die in accidents due to inadequate and poorly monitored health and safety laws. Child labor is widespread. Because children are considered an easy source of cheap labor, they are regularly employed in the diamond mining industry. In some areas of Africa, children make up more than a small part of the workforce. One survey of diamond miners in the Lunda Norte province of Angola found that 46% of miners were between the ages of 5 and 16. Further, widespread corruption deprive diamond mining communities of funds badly needed for economic development. As a result, hundreds of thousands of miners and their families lack basic necessities such as running water and sanitation. Hunger, illiteracy, and infant mortality are commonplace. Even within developing countries, diamond mining communities are often the most impoverished. 

child-miner | conflict_diamonds

Environment: Due to inadequate planning and regulation, diamond mining has wreaked environmental havoc throughout Africa and other parts of the world. Decades of reckless diamond mining has taken a heavy toll on Africa’s environment. Irresponsible diamond mining has caused soil erosion, led to deforestation, and forced local populations to relocate. In some extreme cases, diamond mining can cause entire ecosystems to collapse. For example, diamond miners in the Kono district of eastern Sierra Leone have left behind thousands of abandoned mining pits. Wildlife has vanished, topsoil has eroded, and land once suitable for farming is now a desolate moonscape. The mining pits have created a public health disaster as well. When the pits fill with stagnant rainwater, they become infested with mosquitoes, spreading malaria and other water-borne diseases.

diamond_mining

The Kimberley Process: In 2003 something called the Kimberley Process was set up to prevent “conflict diamonds” from entering the mainstream diamond markets. The process was set up "to ensure that diamond purchases were not financing violence by rebel movements and their allies seeking to undermine legitimate governments." However, the effectiveness of the process has been brought into question. Organizations such as Global Witness and IMPACT have pulled out of the scheme claiming that it has failed in it's purpose and does not provide markets with assurance that the diamonds are not conflict diamonds. Organisations such a Human Rights Watch have also argued that the Kimberley Process is too narrow in scope and does not adequately serve to eliminate human rights concerns and exploitation from the diamond production chain, nor does it deal with the poverty prevalent in Africa's diamond mining communities.African-mining-village | conflict-diamonds

According to the investigative newspaper The Guardian, in it's analysis of the Kimberley Process concluded: "In practice little has changed. The very system set up to eradicate the trade in conflict diamonds is now giving the industry a perfect cover story, as it continues to operate in the same opaque way it always has."

For these reasons we do not use mined diamonds in our jewellery. We prefer to use Zirconia Gemstones instead. 

Zirconia are crystals created from gemstones that are visually and aesthetically comparable to diamonds. According to Swarovski, Zirconia has a comparable brilliance and hardness to diamonds, with a ranking of 8.5 on the Mohs Scale.

With the right selection and cut Zirconia can display the same or even better characteristics than a diamond, at a significantly lower price. In some respects Zirconia gemstones are more desirable to diamonds as they are flawless. From an ethical standpoint Zirconia are preferable because they are conflict free and produced in an environmentally responsible manner.

View our Anti Slavery Policy.

Love Jewelry?

hackney_nine | hackneynine | boutique-to-go | start-your-own-business | start-your-own-business-from-home | home-based-business| home_based-fashion-business | home-based-jewelry-business | affordable-jewelry | gold-chain | silver-chain  |hoops | earrings |become_a_brand_ambassador | become_an_independent_stylist | boutique_to_go | gold-chain | silver-chain | necklace | earrings | charms | jewelry | jewelry-store | pandora | bracelet | shop-jewelry | zodiac-jewelry | silver-jewelry | gold-jewelry | 925silver | heart-Jewelry | Inspirational-jewelry | dainty-jewelry | zirconia

Turn your passion into an income stream.
Partner with us to sell our Conflict Free Jewelry
 WEAR SHARE EARN: